Netherlands Amsterdam Den Bosch Maastricht Nijmegen Utrecht Keukenhof

Key country data

Capital: Amsterdam
Area: 41.5 k km2
Population: 16.7 mln
Languages: Dutch, Frisian
Currency: European euro (EUR)
Voltage: 230V/50Hz, Plug type C/F
Time zone: UTC+1
Political system: Constitutional monarchy with ceremonial monarch
Main religions: Roman Catholic, Protestant, Muslim


 The Roman Empire established a miliary post in the city of Nijmegen, southern part of today's Netherlands only in the 1st century BC. In the 5th century Franks invaded the country and introduced the Christianity. In the Middle Ages, the strong economic position of the country made Netherlands one of most wealthy parts of Europe. In the 15th and 16th century the Hambsburgs dominated the country and when mid 16th century the rule was taken over by the Spanish king, part of the Habsburg dynasty, with oppresive Catholic intolerance and administration, the 80-ty years war developed which lead to declaration in 1581 by the Union of Utrecht the independence from Spain. The independence of the new republic was recognized by Spain only in 1648 but remained nominally under the Austrian Habsburgs. By mid 17th century the Dutch republic became the leading sea trading power. By end of 18th century,  Kingdom of the Netherlands was created which after end of the Napolean era also included territories of today's Belgium and Luxemburg. The Begium part after a revolt separated in 1830 and the Kingdom of Belgium was created. Luxemburg separated from the Netherlands in 1890. In the 19th century,  Netherlands developed into a wealthy and liberal state. It remained neutral in the World War I. During the World War II, Netherlands was invaded and occupied by Germans. Today, Netherlands is one of most developed and wealthy nations in the world.


Copyright © 2012 All rights reserved, graphic design:

Follow us on facebook | How to use this website | About World Travels | Contact