Luxembourg     Luxembourg Old Town

Key country data

Capital: Luxemburg City
Area: 2.6 k km2
Population: 509 k
Languages: Luxembourgish, German, French
Currency: European euro (EUR)
Voltage: 230V/50Hz, Plug type C/F
Time zone: UTC+1
Political system: Constitutional monarchy with ceremonial monarch
Main religions: Roman Catholic


Founded in 963, the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg is a small country surrounded by Belgium, France and Germany, and its history has been  inseparably linked with that of its larger neighbours. In 1839 it lost more than half of its territory to Belgium  but gained a larger measure of autonomy. Complete independence was attained in 1867. Overrun by Germany in both world wars, it ended its neutrality in 1948 when it entered into the Benelux Customs Union and when it joined NATO the next year. In 1957, Luxembourg became one of the six founding countries of the European Economic Community (later the European Union), in 1999 it joined the euro currency area. Today, Luxembourg is a hereditary Grand Duchy with a unicameral parliamentary system.

Copyright © 2012 All rights reserved, graphic design:

Follow us on facebook | How to use this website | About World Travels | Contact