Czech Rep. Prague   Charles Bridge

Key country data

Capital: Prague
Area: 78.9 k km2
Population: 10.1 mln
Languages: Czech
Currency: Czech koruna (CZK)
Voltage:230V/50Hz, Plug type C/E
Time zone: UTC+1
Political system: Parliamentary republic
Main religions: Roman Catholic


Around 1230 the Old Town was established. Around 1320, Hradcany - the area around Prague Castle is established.

1346 - start of Charles IV period when Prague is the capital of the Bohemian Kingdom.

1526 - the Hapsburg dynasty takes over the Bohemian throne. This rule lasts till 1918 when the independent Czechoslovakia was declared.

The country was occupied 1939 -1945 by the Nazi Germany. In 1948 the Communistic Party of Czechoslovakia  with backing of the Soviets, takes control of the country starting 40 years of the communistic dictatorship.

1989 - the Velvet Revolution starts leading to the fall of the communistic regime and Vaclav Havel is elected as president. In 1990 first free election after the communistic rule is held.

In 1993, Czechoslovakia splits in the Czech Republic and Slovakia.

In 2004 the Czech Republic joins the European Union. In 2008, the Czech Republic joins Schengen agreement which removes internal borders between the Schengen countries.



Copyright © 2012 All rights reserved, graphic design:

Follow us on facebook | How to use this website | About World Travels | Contact