Austria Vienna Graz Salzburg   Schonbrunn Palace

Key country data

Capital: Vienna
Area: 83.8 k km2
Population: 8.3 mln
Languages: German
Currency: European euro (EUR)
Voltage: 230V/50Hz, Plug type C/F
Time zone: UTC+1
Political system: Parliamentary republic
Main religions: Roman Catholic, Protestant, Muslim


Once the center of power for the large Austro-Hungarian Empire, Austria was  decreased to a tiny republic after its defeat in World War I. Following annexation by Nazi Germany in 1938 and subsequent occupation by the victorious Allies in 1945, Austria's status stayed unclear for a decade. A State Treaty signed in 1955 finished the occupation, recognized Austria's independence, and inhibit unification with Germany. A constitutional law that same year declared the country's "perpetual neutrality" as a condition for Soviet military removal. The Soviet Union's collapse in 1991 and Austria's entry into the European Union in 1995 have  changed the meaning of this neutrality. A democratic country, Austria entered the EU Economic and Monetary Union in 1999.

Copyright © 2012 All rights reserved, graphic design:

Follow us on facebook | How to use this website | About World Travels | Contact